Luis Suarez named Football Writers’ Player of the Year

The Liverpool star adds the award to the Professional Footballers’ Association’s trophy he won eight days ago, beating second- and third-placed Steven Gerrard and Yaya Toure

Liverpool star Luis Suarez has won the Football Writers’ Player of the Year award, adding the prize to the Professional Footballers’ Association’s trophy he picked eight days ago.

The striker topped the poll with 52 per cent of the vote, with team-mate Steven Gerrard and Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure finishing second and third, respectively.

Suarez has netted 30 league goals this season to lead the division’s scoring charts, two off Alan Shearer and Cristiano Ronaldo’s 32-goal hauls in a 38-game season, despite missing the six matches due to suspension.

FWA chairman Andy Dunn said: “Those members who have been fortunate enough to be working at a match involving Luis Suarez have witnessed an astonishing talent first-hand.

“Tireless endeavour allied to extraordinary imagination makes an irresistible combination. Add ingenious, impudent finishing and you have a footballer who truly quickens the pulse.”

“Luis is a remarkable gifted addition to the long and distinguished list of winners of our award.”

The double award-winnning campaign marks a dramatic turnaround for the Uruguayan, who began the campaign by serving the remainder of a 10-game suspension for biting Chelsea’s Branislav Ivanovic.

Earlier last season the striker was also involved in a race row involving Manchester United’s Patrice Evra that also produced another lengthy ban.

Suarez can add to his goal return when Liverpool face Crystal Palace on Monday evening, with the club still in contention for a first ever Premier League title.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *